Daughters of Persephone / Eleni Karathanasi

Our upcoming Dragon’s Lair Gallery exhibition Daughters of Persephone features the works of local artist Eleni Karathanasi and is the artist’s first solo exhibition.

Artist Eleni Karathanasi, image supplied by Artist.

The exhibition is inspired by Greek mythology, as Persephone is the goddess of spring and of the underworld. Her story as the ancient Greeks explained, not only relates to the cycle of the seasons, but also the separation of a daughter from her mother when she starts a family of her own.

Artist Eleni Karathanasi explains; I have found myself in that stage of my life where I may also begin a new chapter of my story. The title Daughters of Persephone refers to the main idea of my work which is the experience of being a woman moving away from her family to start a new life. My art depicts the bonds of family and romantic love as well as the beauty of women that I have met, who have been through that same experience and I regard them as goddesses of life, death, and rebirth, thus daughters of Persephone.

Image: Courtesy of the artist.

We were fortunate to ask Eleni some questions regarding her work and processes:


Can you give us an insight into your artistic process? Is your work pre-planned or created intuitively? How long does each work take to complete

I believe that an artist’s creative process is one of the most interesting and intriguing parts of an artwork, even though it is not often shared or seen directly by audiences. My artistic process usually begins with a story or an idea I would like to express and shape  into something that people can see and touch.  Rough ideas and concepts turn into sketches which then go through several changes until I create something that communicates my thoughts to the viewers.  I know when an art piece is finished when I look at it and I know it has already claimed its own identity in both the physical world and the realm of my ideas.

Can you explain your technique; how you manipulate the medium?

I use each art medium in a different way; I practice and experiment a lot until I master certain techniques or even create new ones. For this exhibition, I chose a variety of materials including acrylics, gouache, metallic paints, gold, bronze and silver leaves, faux gemstones, and artificial fruits like pomegranates.

Image: Work in progrees, creating and painting pomegranates, image courtesy of the artist.

I usually pick a colour to be the base of my painting meaning all the other colours either compliment or are variations of that particular colour. I also love to include the colours gold and silver into my work, as parts of the background or to highlight certain parts of the painting.

Do you keep some kind of ongoing drawing book or diary? Or a collection of images or photographs for inspiration?

I keep a number of visual diaries that serve as an archive of my experiments with certain techniques or as sources of inspiration for my projects. I consider my art diaries and drawing books as time capsules that include both my mistakes and my small victories. I can refer back to them, look at the obstacles I overcame through practice and observation but also see my progress and laugh at awkward art pieces I have created.

I always keep photos or images of things that I find interesting in boxes or folders close to my art supplies, but I also have tons of images saved on my pc and phone. I often scroll through my photo gallery to find reference images for sketching and practicing. 

Image: Eleni Karathanasi, Hades and Persephone, acrylic and watercolour on canvas, 2022.

Who are your favorite artists? Who do you draw inspiration from?

The Pre-Raphaelites along with Edward Coley Burne-Jones, Edward Robert Hughes, Edward Poynter and Edmund Dulac have been a constant source of inspiration for me throughout my path as an artist. Their art illustrates myths, folklore and stories that are absolutely fascinating to me. I am also captivated by artists like Botticelli, Caravaggio, Remedios Varo, Frida Khalo and Nikolaos Gyzis.

Daughters of Persephone will be on display at Hurstville Museum & Gallery from 15 April – 14 May 2023.

Events

Exhibition opening

Join us to celebrate the exhibition opening of Daughters of Persephone.

Saturday 15 April 2023, 2:30pm

Address

Hurstville Museum & Gallery

14 MacMahon Street, Hurstville.

Cost: Free

Bookings recommended for catering purposes.

Public program: Crafting myths: Persephone & Hades

Join artist Eleni Karathanasi in exploring Greek mythology and creating your own amazing artwork! The myth of Persephone and Hades will challenge you to immerse in yourself in the world of stories while making art. Among other things, this myth is about the love for you family, the fear of the unknown and the strength to become your own hero.      

Saturday 13 May 2023,  2.30 pm – 4pm
Ages : 6-8 years old

Cost: Free, bookings essential

For more information

Please contact Hurstville Museum & Gallery on (02) 9330 6444 or museumgallery@georgesriver.nsw.gov.au

Leave a comment